Why Baptize if it only gets us wet?

  

Intro: Biblical association between water and judgement: certainly enough images of death and judgement, for Paul to grab the image of death, from his discussion of dying to sin.

Romans 6:1

Why Baptism? Why the fuss? Why the interest in mode and merit? 

We need!

Our relationship with Christ needs a transformation that equals the depth of our redemption.

So what makes up my transformation in Christ?

MY GOAL:

My goal is to manifest a life in Christ that is radically different than the life I left. I have died to the sin that once enslaved me. To be dead to it means I am separated from it. It no longer commands me

MY GOSPEL

The simplest explanation for what has happened to me. Paul’s illustration involves the culmination of his interest in my life.

  • Best summed up in I Cor. 15:1-4

MY GUARANTEE 

What Jesus does with his death becomes the template for ours! 

  • Romans 8:1-4

And the resurrection of Jesus is my guarantee that I can live differently today and live eternally in the presence of my SAVIOUR!

… And this is my chance to explain it to you.

In 1739, Jonathan Edwards delivered his famous sermon, Sinners… In which he vividly dangled his audience over the flames of hell! What’s missing from most people’s understanding of that sermon is the presence of mercy so needed and undeserved.

As pastors, we’ve been bullied out of any discussion of hell as a real place, with real and eternal consequences. Look at the world around us, and recognize that a world so self destructive and self consumed will only implode if not for the presence of God and a judgement.

These little pictures [ please stand]  (little people) in front of you are staking their future and their lives on the reality of a real God, a real judgement, and real salvation that makes all the difference in life and death! If they’re not right… They’ve merely wasted your time and little more… If they’re right, then you who have not confessed Christ stand to lose everything?

Just days after Edwards preached “Sinners”, he penned advice to a young person who had asked him some questions about living a powerful Christian life, He wrote,

In all your course, walk with God and follow Christ, as a little, poor, helpless child, taking hold if Christ’s hand, keeping your eye on the Mark of the wounds on his hand and side, whence comes the blood that cleanses you from sin…

MJC 

Leave a comment